ron-typing.gif

I’m doing okay. I feel like I know where I’m heading with the story. I don’t advise you to edit as you’re writing your first draft. That just takes away precious time you could spend writing the actual draft. I feel like I’m getting really into the nitty-gritty of the story as in diving head-first into the middle, which feels exciting.

I’ll try to aim to write 25k words by the end of today.

My creativity levels are kinda lagging. I need to read more stuff, which I’ll do. I’m currently 1/3 of the way through Middlesex by Jeffrey Eugenides – it’s good, so far a solid 3-star book, but I’m waiting for the main storyline to occur.

To change subject slightly, I’m going to tell you the most important aspect of a novel is tension. I see this in many crap novels, where the authors are too afraid to make bad things happen to their little darlings (i.e. their characters.) This makes for a boring work, because you as the reader know that these character probably won’t face real challenges or obstacles in achieving their goals. This could even be applied to my blog posts and you as my readers. I’m guessing the reason you read this is because you want to see if I can reach the end of my goal, which consists of completing the first draft of my novel as fast as possible in the quickest possible time. You probably don’t read it to watch me say ‘wow, today was super easy’ because let’s face it, that would be boring. You read it because you like that there’s someone else out there who struggles to write like you do (perhaps, you do or you don’t). My point is, the little mental barriers I put up for myself entertain you. 😉

At the heart of a gripping story, is rising conflict and tension. You should pile on the shit, so that if your characters came to life, they would try to hunt you down for making their lives hell.

If the character is cruising through the story without facing many terrible events/choices, throw in something dangerous to make the plot stand out. There’s too many boring stories out there which waste the readers time, make sure yours isn’t one of them.

More tomorrow.

 

=

Leave a comment so I can say hi at least. 🙂 Thank you for liking my posts. It’s fun keeping you guys in the loop. FOLLOW ME for daily writing advice and reflections on shit the pleases me or bother me.  🙂

