So, I wrote 1003 words yesterday – I’m very pleased considering I’m too sleepy to really focus on anything for long amounts of time. 

I think the scene I’m writing has gone off on an interesting direction, which I didn’t anticipate. I’ll be excited to continue with it – I have an idea of where to take this.

I listened to some music in YouTube and managed to fall half asleep listening to Roy Orbison hits. I listened to Roy’s lyrics and they sound kind of miserable and wistful at the same time, accompanied by the largely up-beat melodies, it’s a weirdly addictive combination. He may not be the most versatile singer but he could have given Elvis a run for his money if he was better-looking. 

Hmm, what else did I do? I watched Indecent Proposal with Demi Moore and Robert Redford. Possibly one of the dumbest movies ever, but it was ok. Sometimes a bit of trash is good for the soul. Indecent Proposal is a 90s erotic thriller, you might have heard of it. It’s got hardly any plot besides the million dollar dilemma – will happily married but poor Demi agree to sleep with rich billionaire Robert Redford? The rest of the movie focusses on the aftermath of her choice. 

Unfortunately, the plot may sound intriguing and sexy but the film is erratic and has inconsistent tone as well as being slow-paced and repetitive. It feels rather shallow and empty, devoid of any real substance. Sure, there were a few good scenes here and there but the movie is crap with two incredibly weak male leads.

Not the worse movie I’ve watched, but not something I’d see again. 

I’m not a feminist even though I’ve taken quizzes, which have (bafflingly) labelled me one, but the men in Indecent Proposal objectified Demi’s character. Her husband’s lawyer friend went as far as to say he could have upped the price to at least 2 million dollars and that was pretty disgusting. The objectification of women as sex slaves does not sit well with me unless it’s to prove a point or an overarching theme. This movie takes itself far too seriously – there is no tongue in cheek humour. Basically, it’s made by uncreative, money-grubbing men seizing on the marketing power of then star Redford, who again falls into the familiar trap of playing a Gatsby type.

Enough of this. I’m going to sleep now.

What’s been the stupidest movie you’ve watched and why? Please share – I don’t bite!  ๐Ÿ™‚

Follow me for writing advice and daily mutterings!  ๐Ÿ™‚

