Happy days! I’m nearing the 40k milestone mark, so when I reach that point I’ll try to celebrate. πŸ™‚ I feel like I’ve been stuck in The Thirties for ages, even though it’s only been 11 days since the 30k milestone celebration. And we all know why that happened, eh? Flu is a bitch – it literally kills your momentum. But let’s forget about that and focus on the present.

My guy pov is like taking forever to finish – I’ve got a lot of fleshing out of his character, so inevitably, he needs more word count devoted to him. The story is not finished until you feel that everything is right and dandy.

I am tempted to just write 2,500 words to reach the milestone, just so I can begin this new week ahead with a new target. It is dragging on a bit, but I am pleased with my progress. I started this project on 3rd of September and it’s been 36 days so far, so that’s damn quick for me. Usually it takes me bloody months to even get to 20k words. Last year, I took about 7 months to write 20k, so the difference is literally immense.

What I’ve learned so far on my journey is that I have more confidence in my ability to write more without having to stop all the time. I still procrastinate, but my productivity levels have, without a doubt, improved.

If I can write at least 2k words for 14 days I could soon be finished with my novel. However, I have a feeling that I’ll have to flesh out certain characters, so word count may be longer. I’m not placing my bets on one number – with my previous novels, I have underestimated the word counts – they have steadily risen more and more.

=

Leave a comment! Are you a procrastinator? Any tips to combat this? Please share! πŸ™‚ FOLLOW ME FOR DAILY WRITING ADVICE. πŸ™‚

 

 

 

